Professional Design Awards

Each year the Indiana Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects (INASLA) recognizes outstanding projects completed by individuals or organizations located in the State of Indiana. These awards are given in an effort to raise standards of excellence, heighten public appreciation of quality landscape architecture, and expand public awareness of the profession and ASLA. The award winners will be recognized at the INASLA Annual Conference on Landscape Architecture, which will be held in September 27th, 2019 at the 502 Event Centre, as well as have the projects spotlighted on the INASLA website.


Projects submitted may be located anywhere but must have had project involvement by a landscape architect who is or was located in the State of Indiana at the time the project was designed. An individual or organization must have completed the project within the past five years. Projects previously submitted which have not received an INASLA award are eligible for re-submission. Projects which have already received an INASLA award are ineligible for re-submission in the category in which the award was received. All entrants must meet at least one of the following classifications:

  • ASLA Fellow, Member, or Associate

  • Non-Member Indiana-Registered Landscape Architect

  • Graduate of Landscape Architecture Degree Program

  • Faculty Member of Landscape Architecture Degree Program

Design - Constructed Works

Recognizes site-specific works of built works in landscape architectural design. For large incremental projects, at least the first stage of construction must be completed to be eligible for an award.

Design - Constructed - Residential

Recognizes site-specific works of landscape architecture for residential use. Projects may include single family or multi-family use.

Design - Unbuilt Works

Recognizing excellence in design thinking and methodology for projects that have been designed but not constructed. This category is for designed works in landscape architecture for which implementation have not yet occurred.

Planning and Analysis

Recognizes the wide variety of professional activities that lead to, guide, or evaluate landscape architectural design. Comprehensive plans, master plans, viability studies, and design guidelines and standards are examples of submittals for this category.

This category also allows for recognition of research projects that identify, examine, and address challenges and problems that are resolved using solutions of value to the profession. Research might include statistical or other analysis and demonstrate advancement of the body of knowledge of landscape architecture. The jury will examine the researcher’s findings and conclusions and their applicability to landscape architecture.


Recognizes achievements in communicating landscape architecture information, technology, theory, or practice to those within or outside the profession. Typical entries may include: published or written documents such as books, articles, videos, and audio recordings of presentations on landscape architecture history, art, or technology; educational material intended for the non-technical consumer; events or public service; or material that increases awareness of landscape design, environmental, or conservation issues.

Environmental Stewardship

Recognizes exceptional contribution towards the protection and long-term management of natural resources. Examples include built or unbuilt projects with a primary focus on conservation and sustainable design.

Call of Entry Forms

Check back later for the submission form.

Student Design Awards

The INASLA Student Awards Program was created to recognize academic excellence and outstanding examples of landscape architecture by Indiana landscape architecture students.  These awards honor works that represent the academic forefront of the profession of landscape architecture and embody high levels of creativity and imagination.  Any student or student team currently enrolled in an accredited program of landscape architecture is eligible to submit a project for consideration provided that all students involved are currently members of a sanctioned INASLA student chapter.  The two student design award categories are:

Design Projects

Category includes any landscape architectural related design project.


Category includes community planning, transportation planning, environmental studies, landscape planning and analysis, conceptual landscape architecture design, research, communications (writing, technology, and theory) and emerging issues.

Student Call of Entry Forms

Check back later for the submission form

Claire Bennett Legacy Award

In 2003, INASLA unveiled the initial “Claire Bennett Legacy Award” to recognize individual achievement, service and knowledge to the profession and the Indiana Chapter. The award honors long-time Indiana Chapter Member Claire Bennett, FASLA. Claire served as the president of the Indiana Chapter in 1978 and as the National President of ASLA in 1990-91. The legacy of service she has provided for the Indiana Chapter, as well as the leadership to ASLA on a national level inspired the creation of this award named in her honor to recognize those members who embody those same ideals.

Claire Bennett Legacy Application

Legacy Award Critera

ASLA members who have maintained full membership in the Society for the last ten years may be nominated for the Claire Bennett Legacy Award. The selected award recipient(s) are selected in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the profession by excellence in administrative work in public agencies, in direct service to the Society and/or profession, in executed works of Landscape Architecture, or in professional school instruction or in professional writing.

Past Award Winners

  • Deb Schmucker - 2019

  • Kevin Osburn - 2018

  • Sean Rotar - 2017

  • Katie Clark - 2016

  • Scott Siefker - 2015

  • Les Smith - 2014

  • Meg Storrow - 2014

  • Ron Taylor - 2014

  • David Gorden - 2010

  • Deane Rundell - 2003

  • C. Edward Curtin - 2003

  • Malcolm Cairns - 2003

  • Bernie Dahl - 2003